The origins of Schloss Bad Pyrmont date to the 16th century when the counts of Spielberg built a remarkable fortified structure which included a castle in the Weser Renaissance style. Because the castle was badly damaged during the Thirty Years' War, the foundations were removed at the beginning of the 18th century by Count Anton Ulrich von Waldeck und Pyrmont. Between 1706 and 1710 he built a baroque summer residence. Highlights from this period include the rooms of the bel étage with stuccos by Giacomo Perinetti and frescoes in the sopraportas and window niches of the ballroom. The castle has undergone continuous change as a result of various stages of expansion. It continued to serve as a summer residence for the princes of Waldeck-Pyrmont throughout the nineteenth century until the deposition of Prince Friedrich in 1918. Today, Schloss Bad Pyrmont houses a local history museum with continually changing exhibitions. The inner courtyards are used for open-air events, providing a unique atmosphere for jazz, theatre, cinema and much more.
32U 517066 5759218
Anreise mit der Bahn, dem Auto, zu Fuß oder mit dem Rad